Organisation

The Court of Audit consists of a college of twelve magistrates, assisted by staff.


The College

The members of the Court are elected by the House of Representatives for a term of six years and may be reappointed. To ensure that the members of the Court act independently and impartially, the legislative body has drawn up a list of activities prohibited or incompatible with their function. The wages and retirement allowances of the members of the Court are established by law.

The Court of Audit is made up of a French speaking and a Dutch speaking chamber which together form the general assembly. Each chamber comprises a president, four councillors (“conseillers” or “raadsheren”) and a secretary general (“greffier” or “griffier”). The senior of the two presidents is designated “Premier Président” or “Eerste Voorzitter”) and the senior of the two secretaries general “Greffier en chef” or “Hoofdgriffier”.

General assembly


French speaking chamber


Senior President :

Ph. Roland

Councillors :

M. de Fays

P. Rion

Fr. Wascotte

N.N.

Secretary General :

A. Bolly


Dutch speaking chamber


President :

H. François

Councillors :

J. Debucquoy

R. Moens

V. Put

W. Schroons

Chief Secretary General :

J. Van Ingelgem

The general assembly is competent for matters related to the Federal State, the Brussels-Capital Region, the Common Community Commission, the German Community, the public institutions depending on them, and for interpreting the European and Federal standards.

The French speaking chamber has exclusive competence for matters related to the French speaking Community, the French Community Commission, the Walloon Region, the public institutions depending on them, and the Walloon provinces.

The Dutch speaking Chamber has exclusive competence for matters related to the Flemish Community, the Flemish Region, the public institutions depending on them, and the Flemish provinces.


Administrative staff

The Court’s administrative staff is made up of ten directorates placed under the management of a Senior Auditor-Director and divided into three sectors.

Sector I provides support to the others. It is made up of the Directorate of Coordination and Studies, which includes the Registry, and the Directorate of General Affairs.

Sectors II (Federal level) and III (Community and Region level) are operational sectors which are divided into financial and thematic directions.

The financial pillar performs budget analyses, financial audits and checks the accounts of the public services and the accounting officers.

The thematic pillar takes care of the audits pertaining to the legality and the regularity of the operations and procedures, as well as of the audits of the sound use of public funds in order to assess how a service, a process or a policy is effective, efficient and economical.

The organisation per sector corresponds to the competences of the general assembly and the French speaking and Dutch speaking chambers.


Human resources

The Court of Audit appoints and dismisses the members of its administrative staff. It fixes the composition, status and wages under the supervision of the board of the House of Representatives. It recruits the candidates in open competition.

The Court of Audit’s staff includes about 550 members, evenly divided between French and Dutch speakers. Most of them are auditors or controllers.

Organisation

La Cour des comptes est composée d'un collège de douze membres, assisté par un corps de fonctionnaires.


Collège

Les membres de la Cour des comptes sont nommés par la Chambre des représentants pour un mandat renouvelable de six ans. Afin d'assurer leur indépendance et leur impartialité, le législateur a prévu un régime d'incompatibilités et d'interdictions. Le traitement et la pension des membres de la Cour des comptes sont également fixés par la loi.

La Cour des comptes est composée d’une chambre française et d’une chambre néerlandaise, qui ensemble forment l’assemblée générale. Chaque chambre comprend un président, quatre conseillers et un greffier. Le président et le greffier les plus anciens portent respectivement le titre de premier président et de greffier en chef.

Assemblée générale


Chambre française

Premier Président :

Ph. Roland

Conseillers :

M. de Fays

P. Rion

Fr. Wascotte

N.N.

Greffier :

A. Bolly


Chambre néerlandaise

Président :

H. François

Conseillers :

J. Debucquoy

R. Moens

V. Put

W. Schroons

Greffier en chef :

J. Van Ingelgem

L'assemblée générale est compétente pour les affaires concernant l'État fédéral, la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, la Commission communautaire commune, la Communauté germanophone, les organismes publics qui en dépendent ainsi que pour l'interprétation des normes européennes et fédérales.

La chambre française est compétente de manière exclusive pour les affaires concernant la Communauté française, la Commission communautaire française, la Région wallonne, les organismes publics qui en dépendent, et les provinces wallonnes.

La chambre néerlandaise est compétente de manière exclusive pour les affaires concernant la Communauté flamande, la Région flamande, les organismes publics qui en dépendent, et les provinces flamandes.


Services administratifs

Les services de la Cour des comptes sont composés de dix directions, placées sous l’autorité d’un premier auditeur-directeur, et regroupées en trois secteurs.

Le secteur I est un secteur d’appui. Il se compose de la direction de la coordination et des études, dont les services du greffe, et de la direction des affaires générales.

Les secteurs II (fédéral) et III (communautés et régions) sont des secteurs opérationnels. Ils sont constitués de directions appartenant au pilier financier ou au pilier thématique.

Le pilier financier élabore les analyses budgétaires, produit des audits financiers et contrôle les comptes des services et des comptables publics.

Le pilier thématique réalise les audits relatifs à la légalité et à la régularité des opérations et des procédures, ainsi que les audits du bon emploi des deniers publics afin de mesurer l’efficacité, l’efficience et l’économie d’un service, d’un processus ou d’une politique.

La répartition par secteur correspond aux compétences de l’assemblée générale, de la chambre française et de la chambre néerlandaise.


Organigramme des services de la Cour des comptes


Ressources humaines

La Cour des comptes nomme et révoque les membres de son personnel. Elle fixe, sous le contrôle du bureau de la Chambre des représentants, le cadre, le statut et le traitement de son personnel. Elle recrute son personnel par la voie de concours.

La Cour des comptes emploie quelque 550 personnes. Les membres du personnel se répartissent de manière égale entre les rôles linguistiques français et néerlandais. Ils occupent principalement des fonctions d’auditeurs et de contrôleurs.